"LOVE YOUR ENEMIES" As a Christian I’m exhorted t…

“LOVE YOUR ENEMIES”

As a Christian I’m exhorted to be concerned about Bush, Cheney, Rove, Frist, Delay, etc. etc. etc. And I’m not, enough, I admit it. I am concerned about the poor, the oppressed, the marginalized, victims, the sick and disabled, minorities, etc. etc. etc.

One thing I learned from Liberation Theology is the necessity of solidarity with the poor and oppressed. This was a big deal for Latin America because both rich and poor claimed to be members of the same Church, and yet the rich and powerful were treating the poor like enemies rather than sisters and brothers. The powerful need the poor so that they may know the full effects of their policies: this is the real meaning of the concept “the preferential option for the poor.”

I could say I’m concerned about the souls of those in power. Not only are they not Orthodox, but they’re so bad besides. Their personal wellbeing could stand more solidarity with the poor and oppressed. Rulers need to be in-touch. And not just with “their base…the haves and the have-mores.” Queen Elizabeth II is more in touch with her nations’ poor than any (supposedly) elected or duly appointed person in the current American administration, and she’s unelected, and the world’s richest woman! We need more like her!

