MISTY MAY AND KERRI WALSH* IN TODAY’S PARADE MAGAZ…

MISTY MAY AND KERRI WALSH* IN TODAY’S PARADE MAGAZINE!

I didn’t recognize them fully-clothed! How long till the next Summer Olympics? Ah, yes, 19 months exactly!

(*-What? You mean Women’s Beach Volleyball has been on TV and I’ve missed it?!?!?! As they say in “Peanuts,” “AUUUUUUUUUUUGH!”)

Nearly-naked women athletes: What’s not to love?!! They’re both married now, but hey, marriage is temporary, right?!!! (I kid, of course. God grant them Many Years together to grow in His love, and knowledge of salvation!)

Hey, don’t call me a perve. WBVB plays a small but (for Straight men anyway…maybe Lesbians too) memorable role in Fr. Greeley’s recent The Bishop in the Old Neighborhood. Though he forgot one detail: this particular young lady would’ve required a serious sports bra. You’ll know what I’m getting at when you read it. But hey, if all (but one**) of his good characters are great-looking, I guess they can flop all over the Lake Michigan beach too! “‘God’s method of perpetuating the species,'” though, is not an Orthodox emphasis….

(**-The exception is the young man in Star Bright!, who was only ‘ordinary-looking’ – the defense Fr. Greeley offered when I chided him for making the good always beautiful*** – but capable of capturing a great-looking girl from Russia, the art student-cum-mystic . I struck out with one myself once….)

(***-The moral problem with making the good always beautiful, ISTM just now, is not only that it’s unrealistic, but also makes the good seem less attainable by the rest of us mere mortals. Sure, it’s great philosophy – one/good/true/beautiful – but maybe that’s the problem with philosophy: not only is it often wrong, but too appealing to the passions, the senses and the mind, un-purified. Orthodoxy isn’t without the one/good/true/beautiful of course – in fact, it’s their true home on earth – but in Orthodoxy they’re in balance and perspective, and informed by Divine Wisdom, not used to tempt. Though I will confess to having had a crush on one female in an icon for a while, till I got used to her, so to speak….)

