Is Mitt Romney the Mormon JFK?

Kennedy’s election marked the socio-political “arrival” of Roman Catholics in the Protestant USA.  And now I hear conservative talk hosts touting Romney, defending Mormonism in spite of Evangelical fear/hatred of it, etc.  Except that Mormons are already powerful in this country and government, and not just in Utah either… it’s just that people who’ve never lived west of the Mississippi don’t realize or recognize it.

I’m not saying I’m for or against Mormonism.  To me it’s just another conservative Protestant sect… though most conservative Protestants traditionally deny they’re Christians at all, usually in the same breath with Jehovah’s Witnesses.  I tell you, though, I’d rather have an M or a JW for a neighbor than many other conservative Protestants: they’re supportive of each other, generally nice to everybody, law-abiding, JWs are pacifists….

