IBS Paregoric update

In August ’03 my GP put me on Paregoric for my Diarrhea-predominant Irritable Bowel Syndrome (aka Spastic Colon).  I started out on just one teaspoon (5 milliliters/cc’s) per day, and it worked for some months – I forget how long exactly – although it took a while to stop doing the job too well, as I’ve said!  But eventually its efficacy declined so much I needed two teaspoons (10 ml, mL, or cc’s).  And around the end of 2007 I had to increase to 3.  I’m starting to wonder, because I’ve read that the medical community doesn’t like to Rx more than 4 a day because of the risk of side-effects, including dangerous respiratory depression.

I may look into other things, non-opiates.  I hear lots of good things about this hypnotherapy program….

(Oh, and the Naltrexone researchers stopped their research.  Seems they couldn’t reproduce the initial seemingly-miraculous results.  That happens sometimes in drug trials.  Too bad.)

